Help!

Velocity was designed to be as easy to use as possible, but in case you're having trouble, we've written the documentation below to assist you. And if all else fails, you can contact us at eoshelp@ncsu.edu!

Table of Contents

Sending Files

Within a cabinet, select the file(s) you would like to send then click the Send File button located above the files. An email with links to those files will be directly sent to the people you indicate.

Back to top

Receiving Files

If someone has shared a cabinet with you, you can click on a file within the cabinet and then click the Download File button. Alternatively, if you have received an email from someone with a download link in it, you can simply click the link within that email and your file will begin downloading right away.

Back to top

What is a cabinet?

A cabinet is simply a container for your files that you may optionally share with others to allow them to send files back to you. There is no limit to the number of cabinets you may use.

Back to top

How do I stop sharing with others?

If you share a cabinet with someone, they will be listed under the "Shared with:" section of the management page for that cabinet. Next to each person you will see an icon that allows you to stop sharing the cabinet with them.

Back to top

How do I keep my files secure?

Velocity takes security very seriously, and while the service has several built-in mechanisms designed to enhance the security of your files, the absolute best practice is to encrypt your files before uploading them to the service. There are several online tools to do this, but one of the better-known is TrueCrypt.

Back to top

How do I change how Velocity emails me?

Depending upon your preferences, you will receive an email when certain triggers are met. You can adjust these preferences in the "Account Settings" menu, which is accessible by clicking on your email address. The specific settings you will want to adjust are under the "Notifications" section.

Back to top

How does my address book work?

Your address book will automatically collect the email addresses that you send files to and share cabinets with. It will also automatically display the addresses of other users in cabinets that you can view. Your address book is accessible from the cabinet sharing and file sending pages by clicking the "Address Book" button, and you can edit it from your "Account Settings" page.

Back to top

What do I do with a cabinet when I am finished with it?

When you are done with a cabinet, you can simply delete it. Depending upon your situation, however, you may want to archive its contents first. Choosing the "Archive" option will compress everything into a single zip file and send you an email containing a link that will allow you to download it. Archiving will not delete a cabinet.

Back to top

How do I upload files?

From within a cabinet you will see an Upload button located above any files in the cabinet.

Back to top

How do I share files?

You can share individual files with others, or you can share entire cabinets with them. To share specific files, select them and then click the Send File button located above the files. An email with links to those files will be directly sent to the people you indicate.

Back to top

How do I keep files longer?

Your files are subject to the file retention policies of this site. You can see how long each file will be kept in the file listing under the "Expires" column. You can keep files longer by downloading them or by selecting the files and choosing "Extend." However, you will only be able to use the extend option for files that have 7 or fewer days remaining until expiration.

Back to top

How do I require a password before allowing a file to be downloaded?

You can require that people wishing to download your files correctly input a password before allowing the file to be downloaded. To do so, simply click a file in the file listing and select Set a download password. Enter whatever password you like and choose Set Password. Now, anyone wishing to download that file must input that password before they will be able to download it.

Back to top